This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan is made up of 72 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Azerbaijan. Information on all primary administrative regions in Azerbaijan.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Azerbaijan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Azerbaijan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Azerbaijan

There are 72 regions in Azerbaijan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Azerbaijan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Lankaran Sahari Lankaran Sahari1.83,300--
Shusha Shusha2.4,200--
Xankandi Sahari Xankandi Sahari3.52,310--
Yevlax Yevlakh Rayon4.---
Shaki Rayon Shaki Rayon5.---
Nakhchivan Nakhchivan6.74,500--
Agdam Aghdam Rayon7.165,407Agdam Ağdam39,451
Agdas Aghdash Rayon8.98,600Agdas Ağdaş23,528
Aghjabadi Rayon Aghjabadi Rayon9.122,649Agdzhabedy Agdzhabedy34,989
Agstafa Aghstafa Rayon10.76,302Aghstafa Aghstafa12,542
Agsu Aghsu Rayon11.66,645Aghsu Aghsu17,209
Astara Astara District12.90,708Astara Astara15,190
Baki Baku City13.2,122,300Baku Baku1,116,513
Barda Rayon Barda Rayon14.129,600Barda Barda37,372
Balakan Rayon Balakan Rayon15.90,300Belokany Belokany9,182
Beylaqan Beylagan Rayon16.81,700Beylagan Beylagan15,599
Shabran Shabran Rayon17.53,000Divichibazar Divichibazar23,248
Jalilabad Jalilabad18.200,000Dzhalilabad Dzhalilabad36,259
Fuezuli Fizuli Rayon19.144,442Fizuli Fizuli26,765
Ganja City Ganja City20.-Ganja Ganja313,300
Goeycay Goychay Rayon21.105,323Geoktschai Geoktschai35,348
Goranboy Goranboy Rayon22.90,554Goranboy Goranboy7,333
Haciqabul Hajigabul Rayon23.61,015Haciqabul Hacıqabul23,102
Imisli Imishli Rayon24.109,061Imishli Imishli34,178
Ismayilli Ismayilli Rayon25.76,184Ismayilli İsmayıllı13,610
Cabrayil Rayonu Cəbrayıl Rayonu26.-Jebrail Jebrail8,396
Kalbacar Rayonu Kəlbəcər Rayonu27.-Kerbakhiar Kerbakhiar8,400
Abseron Absheron Rayon28.189,800Khirdalan Khirdalan37,949
Xizi Khizi Rayon29.13,822Khyzy Khyzy1,024
Gadabay Rayon Gadabay Rayon30.94,200Kyadabek Kyadabek8,657
Kurdamir Rayon Kurdamir Rayon31.106,128Kyurdarmir Kyurdarmir19,088
Siazan Rayon Siazan Rayon32.38,400Kyzyl-Burun Kyzyl-Burun3
Lacin Laçın Rayonu33.68,033Lacin Laçın2,300
Lankaran Lankaran Rayon34.197,500Lankaran Lankaran240,300
Lerik Lerik Rayon35.69,735Lerik Lerik7,094
Masally Masally District36.183,532Masally Masally9,604
Mingacevir City Mingacevir City37.99,775Mingelchaur Mingelchaur95,453
Naftalan Naftalan City38.7,403Naftalan Naftalan7,045
Nakhichevan Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic39.64,754Nakhchivan Nakhchivan64,754
Neftcala Neftchala Rayon40.75,356Neftcala Neftçala18,661
Xocavand Rayonu Xocavənd Rayonu41.-Novyy Karanlug Novyy Karanlug5,079
Oguz Oghuz Rayon42.38,915Oguz Oğuz6,600
Bilasuvar Rayon Bilasuvar Rayon43.94,400Pushkino Pushkino18,182
Qakh Rayon Qakh Rayon44.53,246Qax Qax11,992
Qazax Qazakh Rayon45.84,013Qazax Qazax18,903
Qobustan Gobustan Rayon46.37,224Qobustan Qobustan3,754
Quba Quba Rayon47.143,047Quba Quba22,405
Qubadli Qubadli Rayon48.35,067Qubadli Qubadlı6,890
Qusar Qusar Rayon49.84,645Qusar Qusar16,022
Qabala Rayon Qabala Rayon50.93,770Qutqashen Qutqashen11,867
Saatli Saatly Rayon51.87,031Saatli Saatlı87,000
Sabirabad Sabirabad Rayon52.143,514Sabirabad Sabirabad28,075
Salyan Salyan Rayon53.117,170Salyan Salyan36,555
Samux Samukh Rayon54.50,787Samux Samux6,013
Samaxi Shamakhi Rayon55.85,795Shamakhi Shamakhi29,403
Shamkir Rayon Shamkir Rayon56.192,900Shamkhor Shamkhor35,421
Shaki City Shaki city57.63,000Sheki Sheki63,000
Susa Şuşa Rayonu58.29,500Shushi Shushi18,662
Shirvan Shirvan59.81,200Sirvan Şirvan70,220
Sumqayit Sumqayit City60.292,577Sumqayit Sumqayıt265,150
Tartar Rayon Tartar Rayon61.-Terter Terter18,185
Tovuz Tovuz Rayon62.149,760Tovuz Tovuz12,626
Ucar Ujar Rayon63.74,067Ujar Ujar15,741
Xacmaz Khachmaz Rayon64.152,360Xacmaz Xaçmaz37,175
Xocali Xocalı Rayonu65.24,787Xocali Xocalı5,810
Yardimli Yardymli Rayon66.54,576Yardimli Yardımlı4,004
Goygol Rayon Goygol Rayon67.54,861Yelenendorf Yelenendorf17,816
Yevlax City Yevlakh City68.59,036Yevlakh Yevlakh59,036
Dashkasan Rayon Dashkasan Rayon69.32,900Yukhary-Dashkesan Yukhary-Dashkesan9,900
Zangilan Rayon Zangilan Rayon70.32,500Zangilan Zangilan7,483
Zaqatala Zaqatala Rayon71.111,419Zaqatala Zaqatala18,277
Zardab Zardab Rayon72.51,800Zardob Zardob10,612